Menu Plan Monday

Today we went out as a family to try to find bookshelves, tables, chairs and twin bed frames.  We came home with ski pants and full tummies from the ice cream shop. I would call that a success of sorts!

I don’t know if I have mentioned this before, but Mr Darcy is going to help me make this table. I am really excited about it. I want a big, huge, giant table to seat lots of people. This past weekend, when we had our dinner party, we moved our regular table into the dining room and shoved the card table up to the end of it. It wasn’t pretty, but it worked. I tried to make myself feel better by putting the only quasi-matching tablecloths on those tables. I still knew that it was a wobbly card table shoved at the end of the oval table. Soon, the new table will start to take shape and I won’t have to resort to the card table anymore.

The dinner went well. That’s the first time I have ever made that many chicken fried steaks at once, but it turned out. The only thing I wasn’t pleased about was my Blonde Texas Sheet Cake. When I got out my giant binder of recipes, I could NOT find that one. I looked and looked and looked and then tried to find it online. It didn’t appear there, either. So, I made a another white sheet cake recipe and the caramel frosting. It wasn’t the same and I am so sad about it. That’s one of my favorite cakes. I think I may have given that printed recipe away when we lived in Bville. Ugh.  We were so happy to have new friends over, though. 🙂

Tonight, I tried a new chicken marinade that included oil, apple cider vinegar and a citrus peel mixture. I was anticipating a burst of flavor when I tried the first bite. NO FLAVOR AT ALL. I guess that was better than yucky flavor, right? I served the guys chicken, mashed potatoes and spinach salad with freshly grated parmesan. I skipped the potatoes and just had a larger salad. It made the chicken a bit better, I think! On a side note, I could eat chunks of parmesan at any given time, I think. I love that flavor!

On the menu this week:

Monday: Citrus chicken, mashed potatoes, spinach salad and ice cream

Tuesday: Enchiladas, rice and raw spinach salad (seeing the spinach trend, yet?)

Wednesday: Crockpot Beef Stroganoff, green beans and raspberry oatmeal bars

Thursday: Chili in bread bowls, raw carrots, grated cheddar cheese

Friday: Date night! No cooking for this lady…it’s our Valentine’s date.

Saturday: Burgers, homemade oven fries, apricots

Sunday: Poppy Seed Chicken, mixed greens, homemade Fig Newtons (first time to try these)

I looked at my older post and couldn’t see that I mentioned our new menu system so forgive me if I have already told you. I devised a weekly plan that allows me the room to change up recipes while still giving me ease in planning by having the same “themes.”   Mondays are chicken. Tuesday: Tex-Mex. Wednesday: Crockpot because we are gone in the afternoons for classes. Thursday: Soup/Sandwich (either/and). Friday: Italian/Pizza.  Saturday: “Beef for Briggs.”  Sunday: Crockpot or Time Baked Casserole so we can just come right home after church and eat. We’re like that.

I am really liking this system so far. It allows me the chance to try new recipes I see on Pinterest!

What’s on your menu this week? Trying anything new? Please share!

~Janna

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhonda
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 23:53:00

    We had poppy seed chicken Friday night, with homemade silver cake and homemade butter cream frosting. I’m no baker, so the cake looked like a 4th grader had applied the finishing touches, but was very good. My nephew swore he hated butter cream frosting but asked for seconds!

    Reply

    • Janna
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 10:10:55

      Rhonda

      What is silver cake? I love cake! And I have had your cooking and it’s awesome so I am sure the whole meal was yummy. How funny about your nephew!
      ~janna

      Reply

  2. Martha Benavides
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 12:00:07

    We are experimenting going vegeterian. I plan on grilled veggie wraps and zucchini pizza with veggie cheese. I am making a crock pot of frijoles rancheros tonight. We did pretty good last week. Have you tried soy chorizo? It is amamzing!!!!

    Reply

    • Janna
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 10:07:16

      Martha –
      I have been hungry for frijoles rancheros since I read your comment! Yum! I have not tried the soy chorizo. I am not a fan of anything “sausage-y.” What do you use it in?

      ~Janna

      Reply

  3. Beth Walker
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 14:26:14

    Last fall I started doing a similar “theme” system. We do it a little differently though. Monday – Italian, Tuesday – American (lots of options here!), Wednesday – Mexican (Tex-Mex really), Thursday – beans in some form (soup, chili, over rice, etc…), Friday – Salad (usually just a salad bar set-up with lots of fun toppings). It has made menu planning so much easier!

    Reply

    • Janna
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 10:05:44

      Beth –
      I love the salad bar idea!! I might just have to incorporate that one into the rotation. Maybe on my soup/sandwich day…I could turn it into soup/salad/sandwich.

      Thanks for sharing your “themes!”

      ~janna

      Reply

Leave a Reply

